Kitchen flowers

kitchenflowers

Tulips and sourdough bread dough

AS I’VE BEEN ADJUSTING to this Coronavirus period, I’ve been thinking that in such a harsh time (however long it lasts) that you should be extra kind to yourself (and to others, of course).

I’ve spent a lot of time in the kitchen these days, which is usually a big improvement over spending too much time on the computer screen (which I also do). Often it’s satisfying to be making good food for Steve and me (and sometimes our neighbor, Billie) or to see the wonder of flour, water and salt transform into a crusty tender loaf of sourdough.

But I confess, I don’t always love it. Sometimes it seems like I am here in the kitchen all the time, in an endless rotation of making yogurt and granola, baking bread, peeling and parboiling broccoli and stirring polenta. It can be a slog. (Steve is not much for cooking, though he does a lot of the clean up.)

That’s where flowers come in (and curbside pickup take-out from your local eateries, which I also recommend.)

frittataflowers

“Baby bouquets” and spinach-feta-red pepper frittata

FLOWERS ARE ESSENTIAL for me lately, and they have staked their claim to the kitchen. I have a small galley kitchen with very limited counter space, so everything has to justify its place (seasonal fruit is always welcome, however). I wasn’t in the habit of flowers on the kitchen counter before. But now I am. I sometimes pick wild ones on the trail and I often buy them from Dona Flora Herbs at my farmers’ market, which makes me feel good twice — I can support a local business and have a beautiful little bunch of flowers to see me through both good times and slog-times in the kitchen!

polentaflowers

Sweet peas and a polenta bake (polenta layered with cheese, sauce and sauteed zucchini)

 

 

7 Comments

Filed under bread and pizza, musings, spring, Uncategorized, vegetables

7 responses to “Kitchen flowers

  1. Anna Irene Thomas

    With you 100% on the flowers. We need them! I’m sending you a picture of my kitchen counter at this moment….
    Stay cheery!
    Anna

  2. Penny Shigematsu

    I love sweet peas and wish I had some but that would be late for here perhaps. The polenta bake looks interesting did you have a recipe for that, maybe it’s pretty straightforward,

    Thanks for the post,
    Penny
    (Cathys sister)

    • lemonodyssey

      Hi Penny — I actually used that tube of polenta from Trader Joe’s as that was the only polenta they had & cut into slices (of course you could make it yourself, let it cool and slice it.) the rest was like lasagne.

  3. Rachel Hunter

    I usually buy some plants for my garden from a woman I know. This year she was unable to have her sale but she is doing a flower bouquet CSA instead. So every Friday around 4:30 I drive to a farm house on the edge of town to pick up my weekly bouquet. There are usually a small group of others there to get their flowers so we have a bit of a visit on the porch. So I am supporting her and giving myself a gift, too. Now if I could only get my cat, Esmé to leave the flowers alone.

  4. Rick Steigmeyer

    This past cooler spring has been wonderfully nurturing to irises and roses around the house, also the lilac, dogwood, honeysuckle and others growing earlier. I always have a vase in the kitchen, even if some make me sneeze.

Leave a comment