Another tip from the checkout counter

upside down pineapple

Pineapple upside down. No, do not add “cake” on the end of that phrase. I’m talking about the whole fruit.

That’s the tip I got at the Trader Joe’s checkout counter last week, when I was buying an extra-nice (heavy for its size and golden colored) and quite inexpensive pineapple.

The clerk said she’d lived in Hawaii, and the trick to a juicy pineapple was to cut part of the top so it is more-or-less level and leave it upside down on the counter for a few days.

Okay! I went home with our pineapple and followed instructions.

juicy sweet pineapple

And yes. It was sweet and juicy and very delicious.

But would it have been as sweet and juicy if I hadn’t turned it upside down? (Remember, I’m getting pretty skilled at judging good pineapples.) Steve was convinced that the upside-down treatment was effective. But really,  there was no way of knowing or testing this out.

Regardless, pineapple is so refreshing this time of year, a wonderful antidote to all the rich sweets of the holiday season — I highly recommend it!

For more on pineapples, see A Passion for Pineapples and A Passion for Pineapples, part 2

Pineapples in Istanbul

Cutting pineapples in Istanbul

p.s.  This wasn’t the first time I’d gotten a helpful food idea at the checkout counter. There was this tip, from my local grocery, for roasted brussels sprouts.

Have you received any good hints from the checkout counter, produce section, etc.? Let me know!

4 Comments

December 18, 2014 · 5:02 am

4 responses to “Another tip from the checkout counter

  1. Katia

    What a great tip, I will try it out right away. I pretty much always have a pineapple at home as it is one of my favorite fruits. Plus, you can not beat the price of it pound per pound!

  2. Maria Perona

    Carissima Toby, grazie del buon consiglio, chi l’avebbe mai pensato! Lo seguiro’ la prossima volta che comprero’ un ananas, e’ semplice e nel dubbio….. Ciao, buona vacanza in California. Maria

  3. lemonodyssey

    Grazie, Maria!

Leave a Reply

