A jewel of the farmers’ market

currants

If you are lucky enough to find some currants at the farmers’ market, as I was today, treat them like the precious little jewels they are. These ruby pearls burst with color and flavor.  Nigel Slater uses them to brighten a lentil salad, which sounds like a good idea. I haven’t tried it yet, but I am thinking of sprinkling some into my next bulgur salad — tomorrow!

kale&cMeanwhile, since I’d also bought a nice bunch of kale at the farmers’ market, I made a chopped kale salad, dressed with olive oil and a sweet raspberry vinegar, and topped with toasted almonds and the fresh currants.  It tasted delicious and those ruby red currants looked very festive against the dark green. Christmas in June?

1 Comment

Filed under fruit, Praise for other cooks, salad, vegetables

One response to “A jewel of the farmers’ market

  1. Beautiful and I bet delicious!

Leave a Reply

