Blackberry cobbler No. 8

My baking was better than my drawing....

My baking was better than my drawing....

It’s nearly the end of blackberry season here, so we picked some blackberries and I made Blackberry Cobbler No. 8 — yes, I’ve made eight of these this summer! I think I am finally getting the recipe down pat….

Blackberry cobbler nearly half eaten

As soon as it had cooled enough to eat, we gobbled up nearly half of it.

It’s great with a little ice cream (or lowfat version of same).

Amazing that it has very little sugar and not too much butter either….(as compared to pie, for example).

Did you know that goats will eat blackberry bushes, thorns and all? Goats have tough, bony palates which enable them to chew up almost anything.

Here’s an interesting article about goats and blackberries:

I adapted the cobbler recipe from one in Cooks Illustrated. They had a great method of baking the berries till bubbly before you drop on the dough… However, I thought their version was a little heavy on the dough, so I reduced the amount. Plus, I substituted cornmeal for part of the flour.

Berry cobbler

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees

  • 5 to 6 cups berries (any kind)
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon flour
  • juice of 1/2 a lemon

Mix above together in a 10-to-12″ Pyrex pie plate and bake the berries (without the dough) for 30 minutes, stirring halfway through.

Meanwhile, make the dough:

  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup cornmeal
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 Tablespoon sugar
  1. Mix the above in a bowl; then cut in 3 Tablespoons of cold unsalted butter, using your fingers or a pastry cutter, until the butter is the size of corn kernels (more or less). Stir in about 2/3 cup of cold buttermilk, just until thoroughly moist.
  2. When the berries are bubbling hot (after the 30 minutes), drop mounds of the dough on top in various places. Use a big spoon for this.
  3. Bake for about 20 minutes or so, until the dough is golden
  4. Let the cobbler cool a little on a baking rack; then serve warm, with ice cream if you please.

After we ate our fill, I still had some blackberries left, so I made a couple jars of blackberry chutney. Chutney is basically a kind of vinegary, spicy jam — and there are endless variations to the basic formula. So I cooked the berries (and a couple of Asian pears I had around from a tree at our place) with brown sugar, apple cider vinegar, ginger, cinnamon, a little hot pepper, some mustard seeds I’d popped in a little hot oil…..etc.

chutney

My freezer is packed full of blackberries (I thaw a few at a time to eat with yogurt and oatmeal for breakfast, fall and winter) and there’s some blackberry jam in there too. A couple of jars are waiting for my daughter Aviva, when she returns from the East Coast. She missed the blackberries here. Well, there are still some left on the bushes, but they’re getting kind of small and mushy so now you get scratched and stained with berry juice when you pick them. I’m leaving the rest of my share for the goats.

2 Comments

Filed under baked goods, dessert, fall, fruit, summer, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Blackberry cobbler No. 8

  1. Pingback: Blueberries, blackberries, cake and cobbler | toby's kitchen notes

  2. Pingback: Mid-August blackberry binge | toby's kitchen notes

Leave a Reply

